2020 JESS Match Cup

* * * Click HERE for the 2021 JESS Match Cup * * *

Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club
Thursday, 16 January - Sunday, 19 January 2020

The JESS programme was a unique annual event which offered young yachtsmen and women the opportunity to not only improve their skills as sailors but to develop their character and leadership qualities. From 1988 until 2016 around 160 young sailors participated in JESS. Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club was proud to continue the original concept which was the brain child of the Coaching Co-ordinator of the time, Huck Scott.

His plan outlined an opportunity for young sailors to embark on a journey that would provide them with not only an enjoyable experience but an environment to develop valuable personal skills and lifelong friends.

“The JESS Experience is demanding on the sailors, clubs, parents and team leaders, but the rewards are rich. The experience for the sailors is a once in a life time event”.

To honour the history in JESS to provide opportunities to young sailors with the sport of sailing, RFBYC have named the annual open match racing event the JESS Match Cup.  2020 marks the third time RFBYC will run the event and this  year will be a qualifying event for a Youth Team to qualify for the 2020 Warren Jones International Regatta.


Provisional Programme

16 Jan 1600-1800 Registration and Weigh in for competitors
17 Jan 1400-1500 Registration and Weigh in by prior approval only
  1530 Briefing for competitors and race officials
  1630 First Warning Signal
18 Jan 0800 Briefing for competitors and race officials
  0915 First Warning Signal
19 Jan 0800 Briefing for competitors and race officials
  0915 First Warning Signal
  1800 Approximate time for presentation ceremony


















World Sailing Grade 5 Open Match Racing event in BW8 yachts in Freshwater Bay, Perth WA. 

Prizes and perpetual trophy awarded to the highest placed Open, Youth (Under 25 on 31 December 2019) and Women's team. 






Great spectator viewing of Freshwater Bay from the main clubhouse. 

Click here for the Spectator guide .  





Notice of Race (Posted 7 November 2019)

Sailing Instructions

Pairing List for Round Robin

BW8 Boat Information

Location of Race Office and Briefings - Click HERE for map





Expression of Interest to Compete (posted: 7 November 2019).  EOI due in by Friday, 6 December 2019

Team Registration Form - to be completed by invited teams - Due in by Friday 10 January 2020.

Teams Entered

Calypso Racing  - Skipper:  Ethan Prieto-Low (Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club)

Quantum Racing - Skipper:  Conor Nicholas (South of Perth Yacht Club)

Columbus Racing - Skipper:  Marcello Torre (Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club)

Australis Match Racing - Skipper:  Murray Buchan (Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club)

Team Red Lantern - Skipper:  Joe Howe (Singapore)

Team VS - Skipper:  Sandy Anderson (Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club)

Alectrona Racing - Skipper:  Kaiella Taylor (Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club)

Pitty Racing Team - Skipper:  James Pitt (Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club)





Follow the event on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook

Twitter - @RFBYC  Follow the live Tweets  HERE

Instagram - @rfbyc

Facebook - @RoyalFreshwaterBayYachtClub







Proud supporters: