2018 JESS Match Cup

Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club
Monday 22 to Wednesday 24 January 2018


The JESS programme was a unique annual event which offered young yachtsmen and women the opportunity to not only improve their skills as sailors but to develop their character and leadership qualities. From 1988 until 2016 around 160 young sailors participated in JESS. Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club was proud to continue the original concept which was the brain child of the Coaching Co-ordinator of the time, Huck Scott.

His plan outlined an opportunity for young sailors to embark on a journey that would provide them with not only an enjoyable experience but an environment to develop valuable personal skills and lifelong friends.

“The JESS Experience is demanding on the sailors, clubs, parents and team leaders, but the rewards are rich. The experience for the sailors is a once in a life time event”.

To honour the history in JESS to provide opportunities to young sailors with the sport of sailing as well as celebrating the hosting of the WMRT events in 2017, RFBYC have named the annual open match racing event the JESS Match Cup.

Inaugural event 22 to 24 January 2018. 

Event Information

World Sailing Grade Four Open Match Racing Event. 

Racing in BW8 yachts in Freshwater Bay, Perth WA. 

Youth and Women's teams encouraged. Prizes and perpetual trophy awarded to the highest placed Open, Youth (Under 25 on Friday 9 February 2018) and Women's team. 

Highest placed eligible youth team will gain an entry to the 2018 Warren Jones International Youth Regatta.


Race Information 

Click here for the Notice of Race

Team Information

Confirmed teams are listed here. 

Click here to read about the teams

  1. INTREPID RACING - Will Drew, Jonathon Everett, Grayson Downes, Brock Pitcher, Rohin Kehal.
  2. SWIFT RACING TEAM - Mark Spearman, Luke Elliott, Romё Featherstone, James Stewart.
Invited Skippers

Skippers will be invited to confirm their entry to the event after expression of interest registrations close. Teams will be confirmed on Monday 15 January 2018.

Skippers registered:

  1. Kaiella Taylor
  2. Sandy Anderson
  3. Mark Spearman
  4. Will Drew
  5. Luke Dobrich
  6. Ethan Prieto-Low
  7. Will Boulden
  8. Marcello Torre