San Diego Yacht Club’s Nevin Snow Undefeated at the 50th Governor’s Cup

San Diego Yacht Club’s Nevin Snow Undefeated at the 50th Governor’s Cup



In a field of very talented and honored racers, Nevin Snow is the oldest skipper racing this year, returning to the scene of his 2011 win. He has since had much success in his college career at Georgetown University, ending with winning recognition as Sailor of the Year by the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association.

This is his fourth year of participation in Balboa Yacht Club’s Governors Cup.

After seven flights of the first of two round robins, he and his team of Scott Sinks, Rebecca McElavain and Chuck Eaton had won each of their matches. Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s team, led by Harry Price, has lost only to Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron’s George Anyon. CYCA will meet SDYC in the ninth flight tomorrow, when the first round robin will be completed. It will be followed by a second round robin. Harry Price was the winner of the Gov Cup in 2015 and has many wins in regattas since then. Anyon has four wins and three losses today.

The skippers with 3 wins include Balboa Yacht Club’s Christophe Killian and Ryo Leonard Takahashi who represents Japan Youth Match Association. Charles Lalumiere’s team from Portland Yacht Club has two wins today.

The other teams competing include Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club’s William Dargeville who has won all but two of his races. The brothers Gilmour, each leading a team from Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club include Sam who has won five races, while Lachy has won four, losing to his older brother.  Also from RFBYC is William Boulden who has defeated only Romain Screve from San Francisco Yacht Club.  Romain has defeated William Dargeville from Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club.  Christopher Weis also has one win, having defeated Sam Gilmour in the first race.

The racing can be seen from the beach and piers in beautiful Newport Harbor. You can follow the racing by the Tweets from on the water at the site. Competition will conclude on Saturday with the Finals between the top two teams.

"The 50th Anniversary Governor’s Cup at Balboa Yacht Club is presented by Farmer’s and Merchant’s Bank. In addition, substantial support comes from Telescope Peak Risk Management, Newport Harbor Shipyard Lido Yacht Anchorage, Newport Balboa Sailing and Seamanship Association, Lemkin, Barnes & Row, Inc. Kimco Staffing, Hirsch Pipe & Supply, Fairmont Private Schools, David & Paula Latona, Mashall Laitsch & Carolyn Powell, Jim & Pam Young, Boatswains Locker. Additional help comes from Armite Lubricants, CR&R Environmental Services, Parr Lumber, Fritz Duda Company, Island Marine Fuel, Knobbe Martens, BEST Life, Pazemenas Family, Gordon Cowan & Dwight Spiers, Richard Ingold & Dean Kiser, The Roach Family and  Jill Golden.

Up to date information will be available during and after the racing at as well as on Gov Cup pages:

Facebook –

Twitter – @bycgovcup

Nancy Mellor


Back to News Listing