Five Australian Teams to Race at the 50th Governor's Cup

Five Australian Teams to Race at the 50th Governor's Cup



The 50th Annual International Junior Match Racing Championship will be held at Balboa Yacht Club in Newport Beach, California from July 17-23.  The new Gov Cup 22 sail boats designed by Club member S/C Alan Andrews will be used by a talented group of young racers. This year, the upper age limit for the racers has been raised to 22 years of age. That has made it possible for past winners to return to try to repeat against the strongest field in the history of the event. All but one of the skippers have raced in the Gov Cup previously.

Southern California teams to be included are the team from the host club led by Christophe Killian. Also competing are Chris Weis from Del Rey Yacht Club and Nevin Snow from San Diego Yacht Club. Nevin won in 2011. Charles Lalumiere will be representing the Portland Yacht Club in Maine.

Five teams have arrived from Australia, including skippers/brothers Lachy and Sam Gilmour from Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club. Sam won in 2013 and 2014. Also coming from RFBYC is Will Bouldon, the only skipper who had not raced in the Gov Cup previously. From Cruising Yacht Club of Australia is the team led by Harry Price, the 2015 winning team. William Dargaville, of Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club will race again as well.

Also from “Down Under’ is George Anyon and his team from Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron. George also raced in 2014 and 2015. For the first time, a team representing Japan will compete. It will be led by Ryo Takahashi. Romain Screve and his team from San Francisco Yacht Club was selected to race due to winning the recent U.S. Youth Match Championship for the Rose Cup, held in June.

The 2016 teams checked in on Sunday. The Registration and practice day for the teams brought beautiful conditions with 10 to 12 knots of wind, mid 70’s temperature and a casual afternoon. Coaches were able to go out with the teams to help them get acquainted with the new Gov Cup 22’s, newly christened on Friday.  Racing will begin on Tuesday in the ocean and will be visible from Newport Beach and piers.             

BYC’S Governor’s Cup is the oldest junior match race event in the world. The first event was held in 1967, two years after the first Congressional Cup was held at Long Beach Yacht Club. Inspired by that Match Racing format, BYC members Chet and Glee Purcell organized the Gov Cup to provide similar competition for their son, S/C Tom Purcell and his friends. Tom is co-chairing the 2016 50th Governor’s Cup with Paul Blank.            

The Gov Cup is known as the “Pathway for Champions” with many alumni going on to America’s Cup and other worldwide sailing success including the most recent Congressional Cup Champion, Taylor Canfield, who successfully defended his 2014 Con Cup win. He led his team from the US Virgin Islands in both the 2007 and 2008 Governor’s Cups. Another Gov Cup Alum, James Spithill, won the America’s Cup in 2010 and 2013. His visit to BYC during the 2012 Gov Cup was an exciting experience for the racers and supporters.   

"The 50th Anniversary Governor’s Cup at Balboa Yacht Club is presented by Farmer’s and Merchant’s Bank. In addition, substantial support comes from Telescope Peak Risk Management, Newport Harbor Shipyard Lido Yacht Anchorage, Newport Balboa Sailing and Seamanship Association, Lemkin, Barnes & Row, Inc. Kimco Staffing, Hirsch Pipe & Supply, Fairmont Private Schools, David & Paula Latona, Mashall Laitsch & Carolyn Powell, Jim & Pam Young, Boatswains Locker. Additional help comes from Armite Lubricants, CR&R Environmental Services, Parr Lumber, Fritz Duda Company, Island Marine Fuel, Knobbe Martens, BEST Life, Pazemenas Family, Gordon Cowan & Dwight Spiers, Richard Ingold & Dean Kiser, The Roach Family and  Jill Golden.    

Up to date information will be available during and after the racing at as well as on Gov Cup pages:

Facebook –

Twitter – @bycgovcup

Nancy Mellor


Back to News Listing