Annual Yachting West Australia Awards

Annual Yachting West Australia Awards

Congratulatons to the following members who were recognised for their achievements during the 2014-15 season at the YWA Awards Evening last night.


Male Sailor of the Year – David Gilmour


David began his sailing journey in the Optimist Class, moved into the 420 and currently competes in the 49er Class and the professional Match Racing circuit.  David is currently ranked ISAF World No.1 in the 49er Class and a member of the Australian Sailing Team.  No doubt this award was a nice surprise for Dave on his 24th birthday yesterday!


Coach of the Year – Tristan Brown


In recent times, Tristan has placed more emphasis on his coaching following a successful career in the Laser class.  Tristan's key achievements include selection as Australian team coach for the 2014 Youth Olympic Games (Byte CII), selection as Australian team coach for the 2014 Laser Radial Youth Championships, selection as Laser Radial coach for YA Youth Camp and coaching WA sailors to achieve some incredible results.


Youth Sailor of the Year – Alistair Young

Alistair sails in the Laser Radial Class.  The highlight of last season was his 5th place at the ISAF Youth World Championships in Portugal.  Alistair went on to claim the Australian Laser Radial Open title as well as the Youth title.  As a consequence of these results, Alistair is currently leading the point score to represent Australia at his second consecutive ISAF Youth Word Sailing Championships.


Junior Sailor of the Year – Romë Featherstone


Romë represented Australia at the 2014 Optimist World Championships in Argentina as part of the Australian Optimist Sailing Team.  A tremendous experience!  Romë went onto receive a Bronze medal at the ISAF World Cup Sail Melbourne and was crowned 2015 Optimist National Champion.  This result has qualified Romë for the Australian Sailing Team for 2015 giving him the opportunity to again represent Australia at the 2015 World Optimist Championships in Poland.


In addition we would like to recognise the RFBYC Nominations, who whilst were not winners in their categories, are outstanding contributors as members of our Club.

Administrator of the Year Nomination – Manfred Speicher

Official of the Year Nomination – Kim Laurence

Coach of the Year Nomination – Geoff Wilson

Female Sailor of the Year Nomination – Zoe Thomson

Junior Sailor of the Year Nomination – Zac Littlewood

Well done to others who were nominated last night, as well as other recipients of awards, it's awesome to see the high calibre of sailing in WA.


Back to News Listing